THURSDAY, Feb. 4/10

*****

DeSutter

“AYLMER’S STEPHANIE DESUTTER’S NEXT GOAL AT MERCYHURST IS THE NATIONALS. (Her first GOAL was scored Tuesday night!)

(Stephanie DeSutter, daughter of Frank and Ingrid DeSutter of R.7 Aylmer is in her first year at MercyHurst College in Erie, Pa. and is a rookie defenceman on the Women’s Hockey team which is ranked #1 in the U.S.  Stephanie provided this info to AylmerNews .)

Erie – “Mercyhurst is a program that prides itself on work ethic, passion and teamwork. With these three virtues combined with an excellent coaching staff and a committed team my decision to attend Mercyhurst College was very easy. After visiting the school in February of 2009 I knew I would not meet a team that was more connected and I knew that I wanted to become a part of that family. This season has been a success for many reasons but mainly, our competitiveness combined with a great coaching staff has guided us to a level where we want to play at. As of now we have no Olympians at Mercyhurst because Megan Agosta is away playing for team Canada, and she will be returning to the Mercyhurst lineup next season. Being raked #1 is a huge accomplishment, especially for 16 weeks, we are very proud but we know that there is still a lot of work to be done to reach our final goal of winning a national championship

I started off the season pretty strong but ended up getting mono not soon after our first games. As of now my playing time is fairly consistent, I actually scored my very first NCAA goal this past Tuesday against Robert Morris J. I still have a lot to work on to be where I would like to be in terms of playing time but the coaching staff is very dedicated to helping us achieve these goals. Normally we practice Monday- Thursday and play games on Friday and Saturday, Its pretty time consuming but I think I speak for everyone on the team when I say that we would not change it for anything. We play because we love the game. Our road trips vary from as long as 5-6 hours to as short as 1.5-2 hours.

I am studying to become a business major, I have been home a couple times; we had a weekend off near the beginning of the season so I came home for my brothers wedding and I was home again for Christmas so that was pretty nice. Since Erie isn’t as far as my old school (The Culver Academy) I get more visitors. My mom and dad still come for every home game and most of the away games, both my brothers have been down as well as some friends, its nice to know you have people at home supporting you. As for the future I am hoping to have a successful next three years being a Laker, and then see where hockey takes me, maybe Europe for a couple years? We will just have to see haha.

My hockey history is kind of long so I’ll hit the high parts. I started skating when I was 2, joined my first team in Aylmer when I was 4. While in AyImer I played for many coaches but a few that stick out in my mind are Mike Haines, Todd Sprague, Doug Rabbets and Charlie Roloson they all took a chance on putting a girl in a predominantly male sport and ultimately helped me get where I am today. I stayed in Aylmer Minor Hockey until I was 11. After that I switched to AAA boys Elgin Middlesex Chiefs for a year before deciding it was time to start playing girls hockey. I began my girls hockey career with the London Devilettes. When I was 12, playing for Ted Sheehan, I was named the assistant captain and went on to help my team win our league, silver stick and provincials. After that I made a difficult decision to leave my family and friends to attending a boarding school called The Culver Academy to play hockey. After playing with many girls from Culver who went on to play Division I college hockey, I knew this was something I wanted to do as well. In my senior year of high school I was named as one of the co-captains and led our team in winning our final tournament, something that had not been done in many years.  Also that year I signed my National Letter of Intent, stating that I would be attending Mercyhurst College to compete in women’s ice hockey.

There truly are a lot of people to thank for helping me over the years. First my parents, they have supported every educational and hockey decision I have made wholeheartedly and they are no doubt my biggest fans. My brothers, for always pushing me to be better whether it was on the drive way or the backyard rink, I couldn’t have done it without them. My grandparents, who have always been there bright and early in the cold rinks to watch my games, it truly means a lot to me. All of the coaches, mentors, trainers and teammates I have had over the years.”

AYLMER TODAY:

-Bayham Council, 7 pm
-Malahide Council, 8 pm
-Aylmer Community Theatre – “Dearly Departed” – Preview $10 – 8 pm -Old Town Hall theatre

“OPP CHARGED AFTER CRUISERS COLLIDE IN BAYHAM”

The Elgin County Detachment of the Ontario Provincial Police (OPP) has charged an OPP member with Following Too Close contrary to the Highway Traffic Act following a two vehicle collision on Jan. 28. Investigation revealed that 28-year-old Constable Bradley Derrough, with two years service of the Elgin County Detachment, was responding to a call around 3:30 p.m. on Jan. 29, when his cruiser struck the rear of another cruiser. The collision, which occurred on Richmond Road, just north of John Wise Line in Bayham Township caused minor damage to both vehicles. There were no injuries.
As a result of the investigation, Derrough was charged with Following Too Closely and served a Provincial Offences Notice.

“BANDSHELL DECISION RECEIVED FAVOURABLY BY COMMUNITY GROUP”


Aylmer – Mary Jane Lampman, spokesperson for a community group favouring restoration of the Bandshell, said today she is “very pleased” with Council’s approval Monday to progress with work on the building. She said she was glad that washrooms would be included and was fine with the decision to only open nine months, hoping Christmas season use would still be an option. She said she wasn’t aware of the purpose of the ‘community room’ which would be included. Town Director of Planning Dan Dale said the use of the room is not “fully defined, but there there was some thought around the idea that it could be used by a group as a meeting space to plan an event, and certainly some storage etc.” He added that the washroom and the community space is actually only intended for use approximately 9 months of the year , as there would be no heating and the plumbing will not be winterized.” Council especially wanted to make use of monies/labour that Ms. Lampman’s group had organized and she said her group now has about $48,000 in funding.

Leave a Reply

